Monster Book Review from @kleffnotes

On a stormy night a monster was born from the mind of a young woman who would become known as the mother of science fiction. Mary Shelley came from a well educated family and that allowed her to gain a tremendous amount of knowledge that was often kept away from women. This though came at a tremendous price as she was victimized by her own father. Monster showcases her life through a historical novelization of Shelley’s life.

Mary Shelley lived a life that could captivate any audience. In this fictionalized examination of her life, Mark Arnold looks at her early education and how she became involved with one of England’s most famous poets in England. Not only were they together, but the two would actually make love on her mother’s grave. By sixteen she had runaway from home and was part of what we would probably now call a throuple with Percy Shelley and her sister. During her life she would find herself in a situation where she would come to create the story of Frankenstein. As you move through her life you will find yourself amazed by everything that Shelley was a part of.

For fans of Frankenstein and Gothic Horror this book is something that will make for a perfect read, whether it is a dark and stormy night or not. Monster is enthralling and I believe Mary Shelley would be pleased to see how her life was presented. Arnold has done a great job of bringing this creative woman’s story to life in a way that any reader can relate to. You can get your copy of Monster today.

Share your thoughts with us in the comments or on Twitter, @thenerdygirlexp. You can find me on Twitter, @kleffnotes, on my blog, kleffnotes.wordpress.com, and on my kleffnotes YouTube channel.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s