The Unofficial Guide to the Collectibles of Our Favorite Wizard Harry Potter Review from @kleffnotes

In this coffee table style book, The Unofficial Guide to the Collectibles of Our Favorite Wizard Harry Potter, Eric Bradley share his knowledge of Harry Pottery, a term he presents for the genre of collecting Harry Potter merchandise and memorabilia. Bradley’s book is perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling’s wizarding world and provides interesting factoids along with an impressive collection of images of the items he discusses. 

Bradley presents a variety of different collecting areas as well as the fandom of Harry Potter itself throughout his well collected volume. He opens with an interesting description of the auction of Rowling’s chair, which she personally decorated before the auction. Throughout he does discuss the monetary value of the items that have been brought up for sale as well as the estimates for items that have yet to be made available to the public. He mentions items even I was unaware that collectors could find, including book signing party sets, set gifts for the cast and crew, was well as movie premiere exclusive souvenirs. I was sad to see that the Harry Potter toothbrush and toothpaste set I never opened was missing from his sections, but I’m not really surprised. No idea why I decided as a child that I didn’t want to damage the toothbrush, though I do remember I had no desire to ever use the toothpaste because it sounded gross.

After that bit of a sidebar I want to discuss the sections of the book that I enjoyed the most, Fandom and Potter-Inspired Collectibles. Bradley devotes a small chapter to fans of Harry Potter and some of the exceptionally fan dedicated things they have done. He discusses the wedding of Samuel and Stephanie, who had not only a beautiful wedding, but filled it with a number of elegant nods to the series. The couple even received a great deal of press because of the extravagance of the wedding, which had some very talented owls to assist with the rings. Bradley also included images of tattoos and his quotes from fans warmed my heart. The Potter-Inspired section gave examples of unlicensed merchandise that you can find all over the internet. While these aren’t exactly official collectibles there are a variety of creative fans who have made some wonderful things. These included special leather bound notebooks, replica Grim teacups, figurines, and even wands.

If you are a fan of Harry Potter this book will make a fine addition to your collection and can give you ideas for further items to add. You can find The Unofficial Guide to the Collectibles of Our Favorite Wizard Harry Potter online today.

Share your thoughts with us in the comments or on Twitter, @thenerdygirlexp. You can find me on Twitter, @kleffnotes, on my blog, kleffnotes.wordpress.com, on my kleffnotes YouTube channel, and I run The Nerdy Girl Express Snapchat, thenerdygirlexp.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s